Skip to content

White Sea \ Tropical Odds [TWI 1223 / CD]

Tropical Odds is the second album by White Sea, the solo alias adopted by American singer, songwriter and producer Morgan Kibby.

Born in Alaska, and now a resident of Los Angeles, Morgan fronted The Romanovs before joining acclaimed electronic music group M83 in 2007, co-writing, arranging and playing keyboards on the albums Saturdays = Youth and Hurry Up, We're Dreaming, as well as completing several world tours.

As White Sea, her first solo album In Cold Blood arrived in 2014, a dramatic debut praised by Billboard for its 'canyon-sized hooks, knowingly grandiose melodies and succulent vocals' and judged 'pop's newest break-up classic' by Flavourwire. Outside of M83 Morgan has also collaborated with artists such as Greg Kurstin, Panic! at the Disco, Mark Ronson and School of Seven Bells, remixed Ellie Goulding and Britney Spears, and composed the award winning soundtrack to Eva Husson's provocative 2016 movie Bang Gang.

New album Tropical Odds stems from an interactive project launched via White Sea's website featuring digital singles and videos released at regular intervals throughout 2015 and 2016. 'Generally being able to create and mix and master my solo material within days has given me the direct freedom to share songs I want people to hear,' explained Morgan. 'In short, if I write something that I like - I put it out!'

Now gathered together in album form, the musical moods on Tropical Odds range from the sombre reflections of Gangster No. 1 and Yesterday to the hedonistic rush of Stay Young, Get Stoned and Never a Woman, high drama on Bloodline and Arcadia, and heartbreaking balladry on Secret, One Bad Eye and Lessons.

Vinyl edition includes free digital copy of the album. A postcard signed by Morgan will also be enclosed with the first 100 mailorder copies ordered direct from Crépuscule.

CD tracklist:

01. Bloodline
02. Arcadia
03. Yesterday
04. Stay Young, Get Stoned
05. Never A Woman
06. Bloodmoon
07. Ellipses
08. Secret
09. Gangster No. 1
10. One Bad Eye
11. Lessons

Vinyl tracklist:

A1. Bloodline
A2. Arcadia
A3. Yesterday
A4. Stay Young, Get Stoned
A5. Never A Woman
B1. Bloodmoon
B2. Ellipses
B2. Secret
B4. Gangster No. 1
B5. One Bad Eye

Available on vinyl and CD from May 2017. Mailorder copies of the CD are shipped in a special LDDC slipcase. To order either format please select correct shipping option and click on Add To Cart button below cover image, or else contact LDDC by email for other payment methods.

Official White Sea website:

Tropical Odds [TWI 1233]
CD shipping options
Vinyl shipping options


"Morgan Kibby will be a name familiar to fans of dream-pop heavyweights M83's earlier work, including the Grammy-nominated 2011 hit album Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Despite the album's success, it was to prove to be her swansong with the band, before going solo under the nom-de-plume White Sea and piecing together a string of online singles, artsy videos and the debut album In Cold Blood. Three years later and Crépuscule continues its occasional flirtation with fist-pumping electronic power-pop with Kibby's third album (if you include her soundtrack work on the decidely controversial arthouse movie Bang Gang). Assured, confident and packed with pop nuggets, Tropical Odds is full of singles. Kibby's vocals are big, her arrangements bigger (in a similar style to Tegan and Sara or La Roux) and the likes of Tove Lo, Katy Perry and Chvrches might do well to take note."

"Never A Woman and Stay Young, Get Stoned sound like arena anthems to these ears, a description that might have some of you running scared but you shouldn't dismiss or deny Kibby's attention to pop detail. Perhaps the best songs here are the darker, minor-key ones - Yesterday, Secret and Bloodline have a distinctly gothic overtone while the album's centrepiece Gangster No. 1 is a smoky, smouldering electro-ballad that could bluetooth your underwear off, it's so sultry and contemporary in mood. The album ends on two slow-beat epics - the war-torn One Bad Eye and the CD-only bonus track Lessons, both of which serve only to underline Kibby's knack of knocking out emotive ballads without sounding like a major-label dullard. She's going for it. Only Ellipses sounds a tad overblown to these ears but overall Tropical Odds has far-reaching appeal. Terrific Saville-esque sleeve too" (Flipside, 04/2017)