Skip to content

Campbell-Mallinder-Benge \ Clinker [TWI 1256]

Crépuscule presents a brand new collaborative project by Julie Campbell (aka LoneLady), Stephen Mallinder (Wrangler, Cabaret Voltaire) and Benge (Wrangler, John Foxx). Titled Clinker, the first 800 copies of the album have been pressed in turquoise vinyl.

'The project began a couple of years ago,' explains Julie. 'Benge had these great sketches that were beats and synth patterns, so those were the starting point. I really went to town adding lots of guitar layers and experimenting with different sounds. On some tracks the guitar is deft and rhythmic, as if mimicking sequencer patterns. On others it's a deconstructed noise-based approach - scratching strings, making fitful, heavy chunks, howls and scrapings of noise and texture.'

Due to competing solo commitments for all 3 members the tracks disappeared into hard drive exile for a couple of years. Julie continues: 'Last year we revisited the mixes and Stephen added his trademark mysterious and menacing vocals. Now we find ourselves with a finished piece of work. I thought of the name Clinker as I love its meaning: "stony residue from burnt coal". This seemed liked an apt description of both industrial and creative processes, and a nice nod to the industrial North of England.'

Stand-out tracks include Camouflage and Condition Collapsing. 'I'd forgotten how liberating it is to play bass guitar on something,' enthuses Mal. 'It compliments Julie's beautifully angular guitar, and Benge and me ripping up live percussion onto the sound of machines... As a collection of tracks these benefited from a lengthy gestation, as they follow no particular trend and were allowed to twist and turn to develop a life of their own. After successive cycles we suddenly drew it all together so the tracks have a sense of completion and identity.'

'The real fun for me was during the mixing process when Mal and I looked at each other as the rawness of the tracks hit us on the big studio monitors,' adds Benge. 'We knew we had something untameable, and wanted to preserve that feeling of edgy rawness in the mixes.'

The cover image is by Julie, with overall design by Twilight. Vinyl edition includes free digital copy.


A1. Camouflage
A2. Monochrome
A3. Influx
B1. Signification
B2. Condition Collapsing
B3. Dereliction Magical

Available on coloured vinyl and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order please select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and click on Add To Cart button below cover image, or else contact LDDC by email for other payment methods including tracked shipping. AVAILABLE OCTOBER 2021.

Clinker [TWI 1256]
Vinyl MLP options
Flac options
MP3 options


"A short, sharply-designed collection of tracks fermented over a few years, Clinker builds on Stephen Mallinder and Benge's previous work together in Wrangler and Creep Show, with Julie Campbell of LoneLady in tow. It's a febrile set of 6 songs, with much of it suggesting the anxious avant-grooves of groups like Bush Tetras and 400 Blows, re-tooled for 21st century precision production. Campbell's itchy, prickling guitar claws away at the slick yet sly surfaces of Camouflage and Influx, while Mallinder's vocals are as seething and dreadwise as ever. Tightly constructed, but rich with functional possibilities" (Uncut, 09/2021)