Skip to content

Steven Brown \ Music For Solo Piano [TWI 110 CD]

The all-instrumental album Music For Solo Piano was originally recorded in 1982/83, and remains one of Steven Brown's best regarded works.

The solo pieces for piano and clarinet range from modern to classically-informed, while on several tracks Steven is joined by Tuxedomoon violinist Blaine L. Reininger. The 9 bonus tracks include selections from Tuxedomoon's haunting 'opera without words' The Ghost Sonata as well as 3 tracks from his score for modern ballet Belly of the Whale, newly recorded in 2018.

Digitally remastered in 2018. Liner notes. Original artwork by Patrick Roques.


1. Piano No.1
2. Waltz
3. The Ball
4. Hold Me While I'm Naked
5. Close Little Sixes
6. Fanfare
7. Egypt
8. The Fall
9. Fantasy For Clarinet and Violin
10. R.W.F.
11. Rotterdam Lullabye
12. The Ghost Sonata (Take 1)
13. The Ghost Sonata (Take 2)
14. Music No.2
15. Basso Pomade (orchestral)
16. Licorice Stick Ostinato (orchestral)
17. Music No.2 (orchestral)
18. Violencia
19. Melancolia
20. Final

Available on CD and digital (MP3). Mailorder copies of the CD are shipped in special LDDC slipcase. To order please select correct shipping option and click on Add To Cart button below the cover image, or else contact LDDC by email for other payment options.

Music For Solo Piano [TWI 110 CD]
CD shipping options
MP3 options


"Bewitching and melancholic" (Vinyl, 06/1984)

"Brown and Reininger unlace the strings of music and genre: disturbing/light, learned/charming, modern/nostalgic" (Open System Project, 09/1984)

"Forceful and subversive. Brown has emerged as a leading force of the new music, which rejects the conventional separation of pop, classical and avant-garde" (Vox, 09/1991)

"There are sublime moments on Music for Solo Piano, which never panders to easy listening" (Melody Maker, 07/1988)