Skip to content

Blaine L. Reininger \ Wounds and Blessings [TWI 1255]

Wounds and Blessings is a brand new studio double album by Blaine L. Reininger, the Colorado-born composer and founder member of avant-garde music group Tuxedomoon.

Wounds and Blessings is a collection of 28 new tracks organised into 4 distinct suites. While all the music is performed and produced by Reininger, featured guests include his Tuxedomoon colleagues Steven Brown, Luc van Lieshout and Paul Zahl, as well as former Indoor Life member Bob Hoffnar and Reininger's Greek guitarist, Tile-machos Moussas.

On this expansive double set Reininger employs all the tools in his current arsenal, from AI-assisted lyrics to sampler bricolage, to violin and guitar virtuosity, a vast array of computer plug-ins and effects, and a trompe l'oeil assortment of 20th century avant-garde compositional methods.

"When I'm working," explains Blaine, "and a piece begins to reveal itself to me, I always follow where it leads. It becomes clear that it requires a violin, or a guitar, or lyrics. Whether it should be harsh or serene, orchestral, or entirely electronic. So it is with this new collection. Also, in the vocal songs, the subject of mortality has surfaced time and time again, albeit in a lucid manner and without becoming morbid, or fearful. I'm pleased with the results, and grateful to have the means to write every day and present my music to you.'

The album is produced by Reininger, with mixing and mastering by long-time collaborator Coti K. Cover portrait and booklet photography by George Geranios.


Disc 1:

1. 100 Sad Fingers
2. I Inhabit the Dunes
3. Je Retournerai
4. Magnetic Flux
5. Chemise Grise
6. Trials and Tribulations
7. I Am An Old Poem
8. Goby Life
9. The Days Gone By
10. Roll Off the Edge
11. Duello
12. Silver Pants
13. Occult Simplicities
14. Pleyel Harvest

Disc 2:

1. One of Those Things
2. Begin Your Day, Winny
3. You're Lucky
4. Slipstream
5. Newbs Descending a Staircase
6. Lockdown Blues
7. Indra's Dream
8. Die Ferne Klang
9. Sun Package
10. Unbirthday
11. Quarter Teen
12. Cahiers Noirs
13. Harvest Moon
14. Push

Available on 2xCD and digital download (MP3 or FLAC). CDs ordered from Crépuscule are slipcased. To order please select correct shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image.

Or, you can order with the option of tracked shipping from our friends at Burning Shed (click here to order)

Wounds and Blessings [TWI 1255]
2xCD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"To follow!"